On “Emerging”

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and reading recently, and I’ve decided that critiques of the Emerging Church are anything but critiques. All they are are statements of where some lay-theologian or opinionated person says what they think is wrong with it and they bash on the people involved and never offer any statement of what is right about it. I always thought that a good critique showed both sides and then made a statement about the truth of the matter. So far, I’ve read NOTHING that does this. One guy says the death of a pastor of an emerging congregation was God’s judgment on the entire movement. How come this same statement wasn’t made about the death of Adrian Rogers and the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC)? The SBC is FAR from perfect, but no one says Adrian’s death was judgment from God.

I also get a little frustrated with the bitterness that some groups of Christians have toward other brothers and sisters. It’s like if someone believes even remotely differently than them that they, rather than try to set the person right, attack the person and his beliefs with no mercy and compassion. I am reminded of the words of Jesus on this one:

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.” (Matthew 7:1-5 ESV)

None of us are perfect, and I am sure as hell that no one has the whole of Scripture completely figured out. If you do, could you please enlighten me?

My last thought for the evening: I don’t recall ever having attacked anyone for any of their beliefs, so why am I being attacked for my slight interest in the Emerging Church? Why can Greek philosophy be redeemed and used for the good of the Gospel but the ideas that the Emerging Church presents as regards how church is “done” can’t be? Am I wrong in sensing closed-mindedness (in myself and others)? I don’t want to judge, but it’s very hard not to when that is all that is being passed on me.

Then again, maybe I’m just stupid, in which case ignore me as another nut-case ranting about nothing and stop worrying about me because if I’m stupid than I am no threat to you right?

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

