Stories

I told [my friends on MySpace] that I had some stories to tell, [and so I thought that I would share them here as well]..

1) On Tuesday night, I had a friend call me up and invite me to an event. It was, from what I gathered, something with a bunch of people from his church. So, basically, a bunch of church kids. It started at 9:30 that evening at an area soccer field.

Now, what would a bunch of church kids do a 9:30 at night at a soccer field? If you guessed soccer, you are wrong. They were going to have a food fight. Yes indeed. A group of local CHRISTIANS were having a food fight.

I didn’t say anything at the time. I was actually unsure what to say. What I did know, though, was that I felt really uncomfortable with that notion. Only in America do we have so much food that there’s enough left at the end of the day to take it and throw it at each other while all around the world, and even in our own back yards, people are dying of starvation.

Now, I’m not against having a good time. And I’m not even against getting together to throw things at each other (within reason and so long as it’s nothing dangerous). But orchestrating a food fight with church kids just seems in bad taste.

Imagine, if you will, Jesus showing up and observing His chosen people throwing food at each other. Would He laugh and join in the frivolity? I doubt it. I think He would show them a poor, starving child in some third-world (or even an American or Western European) country, like this one

and tell them this story:

“There was a rich man who was clothed in purple and fine linen and who feasted sumptuously every day. And at his gate was laid a poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, who desired to be fed with what fell from the rich man’s table. Moreover, even the dogs came and licked his sores. The poor man died and was carried by the angels to Abraham’s side. The rich man also died and was buried, and in Hades, being in torment, he lifted up his eyes and saw Abraham far off and Lazarus at his side. And he called out, ‘Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus to dip the end of his finger in water and cool my tongue, for I am in anguish in this flame.’ But Abraham said, ‘Child, remember that you in your lifetime received your good things, and Lazarus in like manner bad things; but now he is comforted here, and you are in anguish. (Luke 16:19-25 ESV)

I don’t want to run this verse into the ground, but,

Now this was the iniquity of your sister Sodom: she and her daughters had pride, plenty of food, and comfortable security, but didn’t support the poor and needy. They were haughty and did detestable things before Me, so I removed them when I saw this. (Ezekiel 16:49-50 HCSB)

I’ll share my other story another day. I need to spend some time in prayer.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

