Keep praying…And some thoughts…

I got a notice today that some of my student loans are due for repayment starting in January. I am not eligible for deferment. So, in January, I have to start paying those back. This puts us in an even tighter situation. I have been completely unable to find decent employment since we moved back here in May. Currently I am working part-time as a valet, and that was getting us through. But, now that Auni’s out of work, it means it won’t get us through. I put in today for more hours so I’ll be working 40 hours a week, but, from the looks of things, that isn’t going to do much either.

I don’t understand something: Why do Conservative Christians support an economy that thrives on injustice? Our economic system is nothing short of sinful. The basic premise of the system is do whatever you can to make the biggest profit possible. So what happens? Rich men and women, who own multiple houses in multiple countries, in the name of business as usual, can fire people from their only source of income simply to put larger chunks of change in their own pockets. And this is okay? Rich countries can send work overseas and pay the workers there $2 a day and do so because they don’t want to pay the American worker what he is worth thereby leaving American workers without work and foreign workers in dire poverty. And this is okay?

On top of this, these same people who endorse Capitalism are against welfare and such things that help the people who are the victims of this system. And they make excuses as to why we can’t and shouldn’t help them such as “the money isn’t used for what we give it for” or “they are just playing the system” and things like that.

I am not saying that there aren’t liars out there who are just playing the system, but how do you know who is and isn’t? You don’t. And that is the point. When someone on the street asks you for a dollar, not giving it to them may mean they die that night from starvation…or they might buy weed. Is it worth the risk? After all, didn’t Jesus say “as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me” (Matthew 25:40 ESV)?

Another thing I don’t get: How come we can take time out of our busy days to bitch about how vulgar Mark Driscoll is and piss on each other’s joy and condemn and bash on everyone who doesn’t do things our way, but when a brother has an issue and asks for prayer and maybe a little encouragement, we can’t say a word? I am not saying that I am deserving of anything, but this has really been bugging me. I wrote a post about how women are not confined to any one role Scripturally, and it garnered multiple responses, yet I post a prayer request, and an urgent one at that, and I get one. What gives? And I’m not the only one this has happened to.

So many brothers and sisters in Christ have gone to the Church seeking help and we have turned them away to sit around and gossip about the girl in the youth group who had sex on Friday night with her boyfriend. This is not how we should act. Any of us. Myself included.

So what gives?

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

