Drawing the Line

It’s no secret that the global economy is tanking.  It is pretty much universally agreed that we will be mired in this mess for at least the entirety of this year, if not much longer.  America’s “War of Terror” does not seem to have an end in sight.  The presidential candidate who ran on the promise that he would get us out immediately has reversed this position and actually increased our Middle Eastern presence.  Each day, the new boss looks more and more like the old boss.

As disturbing as politics can be, though, it is the spirituality of the American people that sends chills down my spine. More and more people are acknowledging that, all along, they were probably atheists.  The only group that increased in the most recent Pew Research poll on Religion was, in fact, the unaffiliated.  But this isn’t what bothers me.  What bothers me is the kind of religious people who are left.

The majority of Evangelical Christians are clueless about the world around them.  As gay marriage is treated as though it were the destruction of the traditional family, the divorce rate among this group remains well above that of the unaffiliated.  While this group talks about the silent holocaust that is abortion, girls, some as young as 4 and 5, are sold to the highest bidder, even here in America, in the underground sex trade.  While they call Obama the anti-Christ, charlatans like Benny Hinn are allowed to continue proclaiming a demonic false gospel of prosperity.  Throughout all of this, freedom in Christ and being all things to all people is used as license to indulge in things in the name of evangelism that would make the Saints turn over in their graves.

We are full of hate.  If it’s not the abortionists, it’s the gays.  If it’s not the gays, it’s the paedobaptists.  If it’s not the paedobaptists, it’s the Emergents.  And the list goes on and on.  There is always someone to hate.  In fact, we have become known for what we stand against rather than what we stand for.

I’m not surprised, though.  After all, Jesus pretty much told us this is what would happen.

And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold. (Matthew 24:12 NKJV)

We as a Church have gotten ourselves into a real pickle.  We are bringing God’s judgment on ourselves.  But we don’t have to.  We can turn things around.  But how?

It begins with outward confession.  We must simply acknowledge who our true master is.  But not only must we confess it, we must believe it.  We must believe it deep down in the core of our being.

Then, we must then back our convictions and confessions with action.  If we choose to follow in the way of Jesus, then we must be willing to make whatever sacrifice He requires of us.  We must follow Him and do as He does.  We must resist that which He resisted and embrace that which He embraced.  And where Jesus was silent, we must let the highest law govern our actions.

And lastly, whatever trouble comes our way as a result of how we are living, we must endure.

I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. Behold, I will make those of the synagogue of Satan who say that they are Jews and are not, but lie–behold, I will make them come and bow down before your feet and they will learn that I have loved you. Because you have kept my word about patient endurance, I will keep you from the hour of trial that is coming on the whole world, to try those who dwell on the earth. I am coming soon. Hold fast what you have, so that no one may seize your crown. The one who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God. Never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down from my God out of heaven, and my own new name. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. (Revelation 3:8-13 ESV)

Bookmark and Share

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Drawing the Line

  1. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on Delicious telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

Leave a Reply

