A Good Week for My Library

I like reading.  Actually, I absolutely LOVE reading.  But I don’t really like to read anything and everything.  I enjoy reading good fiction and thought-provoking non-fiction.  And everything I read has to have a positive influence on my faith if it deals in topics of religion. That doesn’t mean I don’t read authors like Richard Dawkins or Bishop John Shelby Spong.  I’m just careful about what I read of theirs.

Well, this week was a good week for my library.  Not because I got a lot of books, but because I got two books that I have been on the lookout for.

The first was The Birth of Satan: Tracing the Devil’s Biblical Roots by by T. J. Wray and Gregory Mobley. It is a shorter book, but it is a scholarly look at how Satan’s portrayal has changed through Scripture and why that might be the case.  The book has a pretty extensive Scripture index, although nothing like a John Piper book which usually, it seems, quotes the entire Bible.  But it is impressive nonetheless.  And the scholars they reference are not whack jobs like Spong.  They are trusted authorities like N. T. Wright and William Barclay.  I was able to purchase a paperback edition from the book club I’m a part of for $4.99 and couldn’t pass that up as it was on my wish list.  It is the next on my reading list now that I have it in my possession.

The second book is not one that I was necessarily looking for, but I stumbled upon it at, of all places, The Dollar Tree.  It is by an author who I really like, but whose books seem to always evade my notice.  It is The Zero by Jess Walter.  The first book of his I ever read, Citizen Vince, was one of the best pieces of new fiction I have ever read.  So, since then, I have been on the lookout for anything by him I can find.  I found the hardback edition of The Zero for $1.  Another deal that I couldn’t pass up.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

